Online Databases
(A–Z)
Explore
See Databases By Category
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 5,217 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.
Access Newspaper Archive
Find births, deaths, news and more! Powerful search tools to help you find exactly who or what you are looking for.
Ancestry Plus
Comprehensive source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research.
A to Z Food America
With thousands of recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, Food America brings United States cuisines to you!
A to Z World Food
With thousands of global recipes, hundreds of fascinating culture and ingredient articles, and essential culinary resources, AtoZ World Food brings international cuisines to you, from Albanian byrek to Zimbabwean matemba!
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students and clinical specialists, Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic Edition provides full-text, indexing and abstracts for top biomedical journals. It covers a range of subjects, including medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine and pre-clinical sciences.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
Primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,160 active global OA journals.
Census.gov
The United States Census Bureau serves as a leading source of quality data about the nation’s people and economy.
Chilton Library
Find reliable automotive help online 24/7 through Chilton Library, trusted by automotive enthusiasts and professionals for more than 100 years.
ComicsPlus
With Comics Plus®, your readers can have unlimited, simultaneous access to thousands of digital comics, graphic novels, and manga from a variety of library-friendly publishers.
County & Regional Histories & Atlases of Illinois
View tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else.
County & Regional Histories & Atlases of Indiana
View tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else.
County & Regional Histories & Atlases of Michigan
View tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else.
County & Regional Histories & Atlases of Ohio
View tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else.
County & Regional Histories & Atlases of Pennsylvania
View tables and lists of vital statistics, military service records, municipal and county officers, chronologies, portraits of individuals, and views of urban and rural life not found anywhere else.
Explora Educator’s Edition
A tool designed to help teachers with lesson plans, student tools, curriculum standards and valuable sites.
Family Search
FamilySearch offers a variety of ways to learn more about your family story.
Fold3 by Ancestry
Fold3® features premier collections of original military records. These records include the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served in the military.
Gale Courses
Gale Courses offers a wide range of highly interactive, instructor led courses that you can take entirely online. As a library card holder in good standing, you are entitled to these courses at no cost. Courses run for six weeks and new sessions begin every month.
NOTE: We are transitioning to LinkedIn Learning, and customers will not be able to enroll in new courses. If you are currently enrolled in a course, you have until August 6 to finish your coursework.
Health Business Fulltext
A source for healthcare admin journals, Health Business Elite offers full text for many journals and magazines covering health care administration and institution management.
Health Source: Consumer Edition
This rich collection of consumer health information provides access to full-text consumer health magazines and reference books. It also includes searchable full text for current health pamphlets.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition provides researchers, allied health professionals, nurses and medical educators with access to full-text scholarly journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest® Online is a comprehensive treasury of American genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. The database provides genealogical and historical sources for more than 60 countries, with coverage dating back as early as the 1700s.
Historic Map Works
Historic Map Works was formed to create a historic digital map database of North America and the world. Drawing on the largest physical collection of American property atlases of its type, it is our aim to be the single best online destination for map enthusiasts and researchers alike.
Hoosier State Chronicles
Hoosier State Chronicles is operated by the Indiana State Library and funded by the U.S. Institute of Museum and Library Services under the provisions of the Library Services and Technology Act. We seek to provide free, online access to high quality digital images of Indiana’s historic newspapers by digitizing our collection, and assisting other organizations in making their collections digitally available.
Indiana DMV Permit Test
To pass the knowledge test, you must be able to read and understand regulatory, warning and traffic signs and signals, and you must demonstrate a basic understanding of Indiana road rules, traffic laws and safe driving practices.
Indiana Memory
Indiana Memory is a collaborative effort to provide access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. It is a gateway to Indiana’s history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media.
Inspire
INSPIRE database funding is provided by the Indiana General Assembly. INSPIRE is a collection of online academic databases and other information resources that is free to all Indiana residents.
Job and Career Accelerator
Job & Career Accelerator provides an easy-to-use search tool with everything patrons and students need to find, apply for, and get hired into ideal positions. It delivers award-winning information on careers, skills and interest assessments to match individuals with ideal career paths.
LearningExpress Library
Organized into targeted learning centers, LearningExpress Library supports those looking to improve core academic skills, pass the GED, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become a U.S. citizen and much more.
Legal Forms
Gale LegalForms offers a wide selection of essential state-specific (and multi-state) legal forms that may be customized for the most common legal procedures. These forms are used by attorneys and law firms. Includes real estate contracts, wills, premarital agreements, bankruptcy, divorce, landlord tenant, and many others.
Legal Information Reference Center
Legal Information Reference Center is an online database designed to assist the general public in legal matters of all kinds. It includes exclusive full text for many top consumer legal reference books, as well as thousands of legal forms.
LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning is an online platform designed to help individuals and professionals enhance their skills. It provides exclusive access to a vast library of video courses led by industry experts, covering topics in business, technology, and creative arts, along with practical exercises and tailored learning paths.
MAS Complete
MAS Complete provides full text for top high school magazines. All full-text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
It also includes full-text biographies, primary source documents, reference books, and an image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps, flags and color PDFs.
MasterFILE Complete
MasterFILE Complete contains full text for general reference magazines and publications covering a wide range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. It also includes an extensive image collection of more than 2 million photos, maps and flags.
McClatchy Tribune Collection
Archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune wire service, from 90-days ago to the present.
Medline with Full Text
Covering an extensive range of subjects including biomedicine, pre-clinical science, health policy development and much more, MEDLINE with Full Text offers something for every medical researcher.
Medline Plus
MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health’s Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions and wellness issues in language you can understand.
Middle Search Plus
Middle Search Plus is a full-text database providing popular middle school magazines, reference e-books, and thousands of primary source documents and videos. Subjects include history, current events, science and sports.
Military & Government Collection
Military & Government Collection is a database of full-text journals and periodicals pertaining to all branches of the military and government. It is designed to offer current news to military members, analysts, policy makers, students and researchers.
Newspaper Source
Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world’s major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
NoveList Plus
NoveList Plus is a comprehensive database and readers’ advisory tool allowing users to search for new books and audiobooks using search terms they’re comfortable with, such as title, author, or genre.
Primary Search
Primary Search is a full-text database of carefully curated content for elementary school libraries. It includes full text for the most popular children’s magazines, e-books, and easy-to-read encyclopedic entries written specifically for kids.
Professional Development Collection
Professional Development Collection is a highly specialized database of full-text electronic information especially for educators, professional librarians and education researchers.
ProQuest Sanborn Maps
This database gives you access to black-and-white, large-scale maps of over 12,000 cities and towns across the U.S.
Regional Business News
Regional Business News provides full-text regional business publications for the United States and Canadian provinces. Users can search newspapers, magazines and other resources from trusted news sources.
Rosetta Stone Library Solution Plus
Rosetta Stone Library Solution Plus is an interactive world language immersion program that includes more than 50 hours of foundational instruction in each level of each language.
TopicSearch
Teachers, librarians and student researchers can use this database to explore current events, social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics frequently discussed in the classroom.
Value Line Investment Research
Value Line has been providing unbiased, independent research for 90 years, and our proprietary Value Line Ranking System is time tested in a way that others simply are not. Our renowned single-page Reports contain everything you need to know about any one of the approximately 1,700 stocks we follow.
Video Tutorials on Niche Academy
Online video tutorials on downloading media, using databases, and learning about Vigo County Services
Wabash Valley Visions & Voices
Wabash Visions and Voices focuses on the Wabash Valley region in west central Indiana and east central Illinois. The digital collection contains artifacts, administrative and personal papers, manuscripts, photographs, texts, yearbooks, maps, oral histories, and other audio/video files.
What Tree is that?
The Arbor Day Foundation service “What Tree Is That?” provides an illustrated, step-by-step process that makes it easy to identify a tree simply by the kinds of leaves it produces. Begin identifying your tree by choosing the appropriate region.